Savory Jam: Home-made mustard

11 10 2009
Close-up picture of mustard seeds
Image via Wikipedia

I love mustard. And I have ready access to mustard seed in quantity in the ethnic food aisle at my local Wegmans, health food and Asian grocery stores. So as I finished a jar of roasted garlic gourmet mustard, I began to wonder if I could make mustard at home.

On the web, I found several resources including these:
Making Mustard at Home from the folks at http://www.apinchof.com

Instructions for canning mustard (scroll to bottom))

And out of a myriad of mustard recipes, I chose this simple proportional wine mustard recipe which I found in a collection of mustard recipes at http://www.marthastewart.com:
recipes

Mustard-making is a multi-day proposition. The seeds need to soak, and the flavor needs time to age, develop and mellow.
I’ve got a cup and a half of mixed mustard seeds soaking, some in red wine and some in sherry in my refrigerator; updates in 24 hours when the soaking is finished and my mustard develops!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Actions

Information

One response

12 10 2009
Meagan Rogers

A good idea for those who love to eat. For the chef wannabies, this might be help as part of your additives in your sumptuous creations in the kitchen.




