Summer Fruit Jam: Peaches & Balsamic vinegar

21 09 2009
Making jam at home

Image via Wikipedia

To enter the cooking competitions at the NY State Fair, contestants need to pick categories in early July, a good seven weeks before the fair judging at the end of August. Sometimes, I see a category and know right away what I’ll make. This year I knew as soon as I saw Vegan Dessert that my mom’s Chocolate Wacky Cake would be perfect for that category.

Freezer Jam was more difficult; I made five test batches and recipes before I decided to enter Apricot Chipotle (freezer) Jam. My experiments were the perfect opportunity to try out several new pectins Ball(R). I really liked the results and ease of use in Ball’s new low-sugar, practically-no-effort ‘Simple Creations’ no-cook granulated pectin for freezer jam.

‘Simple Creations’ (SC) is a dextrose-pectin combination which adds about 0.5g carbohydrate to recipes. The relatively small amount of destrose in the pectin mixture means that even the no-cook recipes using SC require far less sugar to fruit — only 1 1/2 cups sugar to each 4 cups of crushed fruit and juice. SC works with most types of fruit, although Ball(R) provides a special recipe for peaches.

This summer, in addition to the Apricot Chiptole Jam I made for the fair, I also used SC pectin to made Strawberry Balsamic Jam, Lime-Vanilla Jam and Peach Balsamic Jam.

I used the peach jam variation on the package as a guide for my Apricot Chipotle and Peach Balsamic jam improvs. For both, I did take the package’s suggestion that boiling the fruit for one minute would produce thicker jam. I boiled the chopped fruits for about 1 minute prior to mixing in the sugar, acids and pectin. That extra effort produced jam with wonderful consistency and didn’t steal too much of the fresh-fruit flavor. Use a big saucepot, and it will still be a quick, one-pot jam recipe.

For Peach Balsamic jam, I replaced the lemon juice called for on the SC package recipe with lime juice and white balsamic vinegar and added lime zest. The batch filled 5 Ball(R) one-cup plastic freezer jars. Hope you enjoy my riff on Ball’s Simple Creations Peach Freezer Jam recipe!

Peach Balsamic Jam

4 cups crushed ripe peaches and their juice

1 1/2 cups sugar*

1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar*

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

1/2 teaspoon lime zest, finely grated

1 pkg. Ball Simple Creations no-cook freezer jam fruit pectin.

5 one-cup freezer containers

  • Peel, stone and chop the peaches.
  • If the peaches are under-ripe, or ripening before you can jam them, you can ‘hold’ the fruit by macerating the chopped fruit in 1 tablespoon sugar and 2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar the day before. Reduce the amount of sugar and vinegar used in the recipe by the amounts used to macerate the fruit.
  • When you have time to jam, measure the macerated peaches and juice into a saucepan and bring to a boil; boil for one minute. Remove from heat.
  • Stir into the hot peaches the lime juice and zest, the rest of the balsamic vinegar, and the sugar. Stir until dissolved, and let stand for 10 minutes..
  • Stir into the fruit mixture the package of Simple Creations powdered pectin.
  • Let stand 30 minutes to confirm set. Refrigerate and use within three weeks, or freeze the containers.
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Actions

Information

One response

21 09 2009
Twitter Trackbacks for Summer Fruit Jam: Peaches & Balsamic vinegar « Kitchen Jam [kitchenjam.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

[…] Summer Fruit Jam: Peaches & Balsamic vinegar « Kitchen Jam kitchenjam.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/summer-fruit-jam-peach-jam-in-15-minutes – view page – cached To enter the cooking competitions at the NY State Fair, contestants need to pick categories in early July, a good seven weeks before the fair judging at the end of August. Sometimes, I see a category and know right away what I’ll make. This year I knew as soon as I saw Vegan Dessert that my mom’s Chocolate Wacky Cake would be perfect for that category. — From the page […]




