Online Jam: jam-making resources on the web

16 08 2009

My regular bookshelves have several books I use as jam recipe references — but one thing today’s jammers have that wasn’t available when most of my paper references were written is the web. The internet provides easy access to thousands of jam recipes, sites about canning and preserving, and general how-to information. Web resources are a vital part of my kitchen bookshelf. Some of my favorites are linked under blogs and websites. Here are some never-fail resources:

Ball, one of the leading manufacturers of canning equipment and jars, is celebrating its 125th anniversary with a salsa contest and issuing special commemorative jam jars. Find more information and recipes under the Recipes | Home canning link in their menu bar at http://www.freshpreserving.com/

Sure-Jell, owned by Kraft Foods, makes powdered and liquid pectins. Look for recipes using pectin and general tips for jamming and jelly-making on their site. Sure-Jell also makes a no-sugar/low-sugar pectin which, while not sugar free (it contains dextrose) makes it possible to create a no-sugar-added jam that has no artificial sweeteners added and adds only about 1g of carbohydrate per finished tablespoon of jam. See the basic no-sugar recipe here.

Certo is liquid pectin also made by Kraft Foods. At the main Kraft site, type ‘Certo’ in the search box to get a refreshed list of recipes. When I created this link, Kraft’s site had over 100 jam and jelly recipes using Certo on the web.

Looking for recipes which are a little more exotic than strawberry jam? Make sure to go to Recipezaar and search for jam (RZ is also linked under Websites). Recipezaar has almost 400 jam and jelly recipes to choose from, many submitted by home cooks. Cooks.com has several hundred jam and jelly recipes in its files and even the Food Network features fresh jam recipes in its files.

The National Center for Home Food Preservation has collections of recipes both with and without pectin, and with and without added sugar, along with tips and how-tos for jamming and jellymaking.

At http://www.foodsaving.com you can view the entire USDA booklet Complete Guide to Home Canning. Guide 7 is the section on jam and jelly making, and contains valuable safety and how-to tips along with a handful of basic recipes.

JamJellyRecipes is listed in BlogCatalog as a jam and jelly recipe blog — and the site does have a large recipe collection as well as links to hard-to-find canning supplies and lots of preserving cookbooks. However, the recipe content can sometimes be overwhelmed by the amount of advertising on the site.

I’ll be sharing other online resources as I find them; what are your favorite sources for new and old jam recipes?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Actions

Information

3 responses

23 09 2009
Bloggers Jam: When I can’t be in the kitchen… « Kitchen Jam

[…] first posts on this blog were about the cookbooks on my canning bookshelf and my favorite online preserving resources. Some of my other favorite preserving and jamming resources are in the sidebar — linked in my […]

4 10 2009
pfanderson

Recipes? I make my own. Mix and match odd things, following examples recipes from the insert in the pectin packet. Examples include cherry-blueberry butter and champagne grape cranberry jam.Usually they turn out, often better than when I follow a ‘real’ recipe. 😉 I will confess that I’ve been disappointed when old favorite recipes disappear or I forget how to make something I liked and have to create the recipe over again, so learning to take notes just in case it works *really* well.

4 10 2009
gaelenscafe

My tagline (Improv with food) is a good description of my approach to recipes — they’re ideas, inspirations, frameworks of reference but for me, they’re often just a starting point. I have several 5 x 8 notebooks filled with experiments; I’ve gotten good about making notes when I’m improvising so that if the recipe works, I can create it again. But many of my recipes evolve over time, depending on what’s available, what’s on hand in my kitchen, and my latest taste fascination (right now, balsamic vinegar is a frequent favorite ingredient.) I’ve got a shot of my own history of pectin packets…some I’ve saved since the mid-70s. They’re stained and tattered and nearly falling apart, but they give me a snapshot of recipes that just don’t show up in the newer sources.




