Can-o-rama jam #2: Pear honey, pure and simple

1 11 2009
Bosc Pears, from Portland Farmers Market

Image via Wikipedia

They are the last pears of the season – Boscs, juicy and sweet. Their perfume called to me from the far end of the farm stand. They were unblemised, slightly yielding to a gentle squeeze but not yet bruised, still firm enough to eat out-of-hand and not yet ready to be stewed into pear butter.

Just perfect for these pears is the simplest of pear jams: pear honey, made with brown sugar and my current favorite jamming acidifier, white balsamic vinegar.

It’s smooth, not-too-sweet, with a hint of the grated ginger. Unfortunately, my finished jam shots are a little too dark, but I’ll upload the color-corrected picture later today. Meanwhile, I’m enjoing this last taste of summer!

Pear Balsamic Honey

3 lbs Bosc pears (peeled, cored)
2 cups brown sugar
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons fresh ginger root, grated

  • Run the peeled and cored pears through a food mill on a coarse grind (or chop very fine.)
  • Measure the fruit puree. Add the balsamic vinegar, and add water if needed so that the fruit puree measures 4 cups.
  • Stir the brown sugar and ginger root into the pear puree. Bring the mixture to a boil,
  • When the boiling puree can’t be stirred down, reduce the heat to medium and maintain the steady boil, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens and sheets from the spoon. Time will vary but this takes between 25-35 minutes.
  • Remove from the heat, skim off any foam that rises, and ladle into hot jars you’ve prepared for water bath canning. Leave 1/2 inch headspace.
  • Process in hot jars according to USDA directions for hot-water bath canning (10 min. for 8 oz. jars.)

Makes about 5 jars of pear honey.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Actions

Information

5 responses

3 11 2009
Joy Zhang

holy moly thats what my kitchen looks like haha maybe I shall try canning since I have so many!!

3 11 2009
uberVU - social comments

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gaelen2: Can-o-rama jam #2: pure and simple Pear honey w/balsamic vinegar: http://wp.me/pBI3y-4Y #canning…

8 11 2009
Katerina

I love the sound of the ginger, that will bring out the natural flavours in the pears.

8 11 2009
gaelenscafe

I think this is one of the simplest, least gussied-up pear jams I make, Katerina…each time I’ve tasted it, the pure pear comes right through. Ginger can overpower, but there’s just a hint in this one, and like the balsamic vinegar, I think it intensifies the pear taste. I hope you enjoy it.

10 11 2009
Sam Sotiropoulos

Hello Wendy! Great blog! Wish I’d found you before my wife steamed, pureed and froze all the pears we had on hand from my aunt’s tree… we feed it to the baby. :) Next time, I’ll know exactly what to do! Visit your wonderful blog. :-) A pleasure to discover your site.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

